Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to the change the world

Nelson Mandela

The ASCCA Educational Foundation (ASCEF) is a nonprofit corporation dedicated to supporting and advancing the entire automotive industry. Governed by a code of ethics, the Foundation serves the industry through educational and training solutions, scholarships, endowments and professional development.

The scholarship program is open to high school seniors who plan to enroll in post-high school technical/academic training or college undergraduates in the automotive service field satisfying certain criteria. Currently the Foundation issues eleven annual scholarships that can range from $500 to $2000 and can be applied toward tuition, tools and books.

Congratulations to the following 2017 ASC Educational Foundation scholarship award recipients:

  • Christopher Tkach, De Anza College (Jim Hunt Memorial Scholarship Fund)
  • George Williamson, De Anza College (Jim Hunt Memorial Scholarship Fund)
  • Nicol Henriquez, LATTC (Alan & Dee Cherko Scholarship Fund)
  • Vincent Nguyen, Chabot College (Donald D. Dirks Memorial Scholarship Fund)
  • Lorenzo Vilches, Cuyamaca College (Elmer Backen Memorial Scholarship Fund)
  • Danica Surdilla, Miramar College (Sheldon Miller Memorial Scholarship Fund)
  • Daniel Katrib, De Anza College (Jack Heyler Memorial Scholarship Fund)
  • Connor Dahl, Academy of Art S.F. (Ed Harris Memorial Scholarship Fund)
  • Bryan Esterly, UTI Rancho (Bill Schoneman Memorial Scholarship Fund)
  • Edgar Nunez Rodriguez, UTI Sacto (Sheldon Miller Memorial Scholarship Fund)
  • Meghan Foglia, Oxnard College (ASCCA Past Presidents Scholarship Fund)
  • Carver Bedeau, UTI Sacto (Bruce Cameron Memorial Scholarship Fund)
  • Gabriel York, UTI Rancho (Jim & Maxine Jones Scholarship Fund)
  • Edgar Rodriguez, UTI (Chapter 20 Scholarship Fund)
  • Danica Surdilla, Mirimar College (Chapter 24 Scholarship Fund)
  • Aldo Martinez, Cypress College (Chapter 48 Scholarship Fund)

The deadline for scholarship applications for 2018 is MARCH 31, 2018.

The 2018 application opened on October 1, 2017.


ASCEF scholarships have grown out of a single donation to a fully funded scholarship in the name of a past ASCCA Member, a Past President or an individual whose influence and dedication to the automotive industry warranted recognition for all time.